James Lee House exterior

Welcome To Victorian Village

Step back in time (or at least feel like it) as you stroll through the neighborhood that is now known as Victorian Village. This line of mansions along Adams Avenue on the edge of downtown Memphis grew during the booming heyday of the mid-to-late 1800s when wealthy Memphians built their homes in this area.

Visit the Victorian Village

Line the belly with a hearty breakfast before exploring the awe-inspiring mansions of Victorian Village. Start the day off at Sunrise with The Rooster biscuit sammie — fried chicken, pickle, Tabasco honey, and for those with a big appetite, add an egg for a "Mother & Child Reunion."

When you are ready to set off for the sights, you won't want to miss the Woodruff-Fontaine House Museum and Mallory-Neely House. Both homes are open for public tours. 

The Woodruff-Fontaine House is rumored to be home to the ghost of Mollie Fontaine and is open to the public Wednesday through Sunday from 12 to 4 p.m. The Woodruff-Fontaine House can also be rented for private parties.

The Mallory-Neely House was built in 1852 and contains beautifully stenciled ceilings, parquet flooring and stained-glass windows purchased at the Chicago World's Fair in 1893. The Mallory-Neely House is one of the oldest houses in Memphis to retain most of its original furnishings. 

For a truly unforgettable and memorable experience, book a room at the James Lee House. This Memphis bed and breakfast allows guests to enjoy the bygone era at an intimate property offering 5-star modern amenities and a very personal touch. You truly have to experience this property first-hand to appreciate the craftsmanship of this home.

Enjoy a nightcap — Mollie's Spirit or Sage Advice — at the Mollie Fontaine Lounge. This popular nightspot has a super cool vibe, creative menu and live music on the weekends. Mollie Fontaine Lounge is open Wednesday through Saturday from 5 p.m. until the spirits go to sleep.

Victorian Village Vertical Image Mosaic
Mollie Fontaine Lounge
Woodruff Fontaine Fountain
James Lee House

Victorian Village Homes

  • James Lee House (690 Adams Ave.) – Built by riverboat tycoon, James Lee, this house was the first home of the Memphis Academy of Art. Today, the James Lee House operates as a bed and breakfast offering five handsome and exquisitely decorated suites for guests wanting to experience the ultimate in luxury and comfort. 
  • Magevney House (198 Adams Ave.) – One of the oldest remaining residences in Memphis and site to the first Catholic mass, the first Catholic marriage and the first Catholic baptism in Memphis. 
  • Mallory-Neely House (652 Adams Ave.) – A 25-room Italianate mansion that is the only historic property in Memphis to still keep most of its original furnishings.  
  • Massey House (669 Adams Ave.) – Built in 1846, this house is currently the home of Memphis City Beautiful. 
  • Mollie Fontaine Taylor House (679 Adams Ave.) – Built as a wedding gift from Nolan Fontaine to his daughter Mollie. It is currently a popular bar and lounge.
  • Pillow-McIntyre House (707 Adams Ave.) – Purchased by Confederate General Gideon Pillow, this is one of the only pre-Civil War Greek Revival houses left in Memphis.
  • Woodruff-Fontaine House (680 Adams Ave.) – Was once the site of many social events including a party with 2,000 guests and John Philip Sousa as the guest conductor.


Back in the 1800s, this neighborhood was actually on the outskirts of Memphis, since most of the businesses and residential areas were further west. Between 1845 and 1890, over a dozen, three and four story, Victorian-style homes were built along “Millionaire’s Row.” Cotton magnates and riverboat tycoons were beating down the door to get into this prosperous neighborhood.

However, the city of Memphis continued to grow and expand eastward, and the areas surrounding Millionaire’s Row became less exclusive. By the end of World War II, the neighborhood had changed so much that the wealthy families abandoned their mansions in the Victorian Village. While many of these fantastic homes are gone, several still stand today, thanks to careful restorations.