Memphis Open Tennis Tournament. Photo by Andrea Zucker.Memphis Open - Tennis Tournament 2015.
Convention & Business Services

Memphis Open presented by ServiceMaster

5111 Sanderlin Ave
Memphis, TN 38117

The Memphis Open is one of the longest-running American tournaments on the ATP World Tour and the only indoor ATP event contested in the United States. It is an ATP 250 event, meaning that its singles champion is rewarded by 250 ATP ranking points.

The vision for the current version of the tournament began in 1974,when Memphis cotton merchant William B. "Billy" Dunavant Jr., announced that the city would soon have a facility designed and built solely for tennis. To make that happen, he purchased the Memphis Athletic Club and immediately began a $7M expansion that would fashion the facility into the current Racquet Club of Memphis. 

The present incarnation of professional tennis in Memphis officially kicked of in 1976, with a tournament won by Vijay Armitraj. In 1977, the tournament was designated as the U.S. Indoor National Championships, with total prize money of $225,000.

Tennis legent Bjorn Borg walked away with that year's winners check, and subsequent men's champions include a "Who's Who" of the tennis world: Andre Agassi, Jimmy Connors, Jim Courier, Stefan Edberg, Ivan Lendl, John McEnroe, Andy Roddick and Pete Sampras. 

Follow Us:
  • Area
    • East
  • Services
    • Festival Organizers