JEFF BARRY AT NOVEL: GO TO HELL OLE MISS

Jul 11, 2024

Novel Memphis
387 Perkins Extd.
Memphis, TN 38117
United States

Jul 11, 2024 at 6:00pm
Price:

Free to attend. Book is $27.95. 

Join us as we welcome JEFF BARRY on  THURSDAY, JULY 11 at 6:00 PM to celebrate the release of his new novel GO TO HELL OLE MISS.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

To what lengths will a father go to save his daughter?


​Big John, a former POW in WWII, thinks women are smarter than men. The three women in his life agree, especially when he brags about knowing more Shakespeare than anyone else in Hope Springs, Mississippi. Big John is overly proud of the only seven words of Shakespeare that he knows: The prince of darkness is a gentleman. When Big John and his wife learn their beloved daughter has been beaten to the point of death by the man Big John pressured her to marry, he needs only three of these words: princedarkness, and gentleman.


Set in the Mississippi hill country in the early 1970s, Go to Hell Ole Miss tells the story of a father's willingness to do almost anything to save his daughter from the Southern gentleman he had pressured her to marry. Almost.
For fans of Pat Conroy, Barbara Kingsolver, Wiley Cash, and Cormac McCarthy, Go to Hell Ole Miss is a historical family saga of hope and hardship, redemption and revenge, faith and doubt. It's also a compelling Southern tale with characters that become people who make you laugh, cry, and think.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Jeff Barry is a native Memphian with deep Mississippi roots. After he graduated from Vanderbilt, he lived on a small cattle farm like the one featured in Go to Hell Ole Miss. Over the past twenty years, Jeff has worked in the farmland business in the Mississippi Delta. He has also spent time teaching English in Peru and advising farmers in northern Uganda. He now lives in Tennessee with his wife and three children. He enjoys hiking and camping, loves his Yellow Lab, Hazel, and likes one of his wife’s three cats.