Levitt Shell at night

50 Free Concerts at the historic Levitt Shell

Music historians say the first-ever rock and roll show took place on July 30, 1954 when Elvis Presley took the stage at the Levitt Shell opening for headliner Slim Whitman. Nestled in the heart of Midtown is a 342-acre public park that is home to the Memphis Brooks Museum of Art, the Memphis Zoo, a 9-hole golf course and walking/biking trails through the old forest. The Levitt Shell sits right in the middle of this green oasis and is one of the best locations for outdoor performances.

Offering 50 free concerts each year with a Summer and Fall series, it's easy to see why the Levitt Shell has been a local favorite for more than 75 years.

If you’ve never been to the Levitt Shell, here are a few tips:

• There is no general seating available so bring your blankets or lawn chairs and settle in for some great music.
• All seating is first come, first served so plan on getting there early to grab your favorite spot. The fall series of shows start at 7pm.
• A few bench seats are offered for the convenience of those with physical challenges.
• Feel free to bring your four-legged family members and settle into the pet-friendly areas.
• Food and drink concession stands are available or you can bring your own picnic.
• Free street parking is available in Overton Park while spaces last.  You could also park and walk (or rent a bike from Explore Bike Share) from the Overton Square Parking Garage which offers free parking before 6pm and just $3 after 6pm. The Levitt Shell also offers a free bike valet service thanks to Pedaltown Bike Valet.
Image result for levitt shell logo

2018 ORION FALL free CONCERT SERIES Schedule

Thursday, September 6  – Devon Gilfillian
Friday, September 7 – Orquesta Akokan
Saturday, September 8 – Meta and the Cornerstones
Sunday, September 9 – The Mulligan Brothers
Thursday, September 13- Black Umfolosi
Friday, September 14 – Snowglobe with Star & Micey
Saturday, September 15 – Rhodes Jazz Night with Joyce Cobb
Sunday, September 16 – Those Pretty Wrongs
Thursday, September 20 – Low Cut Connie
Friday, September 21 – Memphis Renaissance
Saturday, September 22 – North Mississippi Allstars
Sunday, September 23 – Opera Memphis
Saturday, September 29 – Lake Street Dive (ticketed event)
Thursday, October 4 – Dean Owens and the Whiskey Hearts
Friday, October 5 – Squirrel Nut Zippers
Saturday, October 6 – Film and Music Night
Sunday, October 7 – Memphis Hepcats
Thursday, October 11 – Terrance Simien and the Zydeco Experience
Friday, October 12 – Bette Smith
Saturday, October 13 – Walden
Sunday, October 14 – Las Cafeteras
Thursday, October 18 – Crystal Shrine
Friday, October 19 – John Fullbright
Saturday, October 20 – Film and Music Night
Sunday, October 21 – Nefesh Mountain

Ticketed Events 

Friday, July 13 – Robert Cray with Cedric Burnside
Saturday, September 29 – Lake Street Dive